JENKINS COUNTY, Ga. - Georgia senators Raphael Warnock and Jon Ossoff have released a list of various counties in Georgia that will be receive funding for federal clean energy initiatives. 

In total, $2 billion was provided to counties in the peach state. 

Jenkins County was listed as one of the 14 recipients. In total, the county is receiving $877,232 to purchase or install solar arrays in the area. 

That amount is the highest that was awarded to any individual county. 

No other county in the CSRA was listed as a recipient. 

Other counties that received funding include Murray, Whitfield, Union  and Pulaski county. 

The funding was awarded through the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Rural Energy for American Program. The intent of the funding is to help rural farmers and businesses fund solar and electric energy upgrades. 


Copyright 2024 WFXG. All rights reserved.