Tornado watch re-issued for several CSRA counties

Tornado watch re-issued for several CSRA counties

AUGUSTA, GA (WFXG) - The National Weather Service has re-issued a tornado watch for several CSRA counties until 10 p.m.

The watch includes five counties in Georgia: Burke, Columbia, Lincoln, McDuffie and Richmond. It also covers 18 counties in South Carolina, including five in the CSRA: Aiken, Bamberg, Barnwell, Edgefield and McCormick.

The original tornado watch was issued early Tuesday morning and was set to expire at 2 p.m., but The National Weather Service dropped that watch shortly after noon.

Strong and severe thunderstorms are possible in the CSRA Tuesday afternoon and night, according to the National Weather Service. The storms are coming ahead of a cold front that will move into the area late Tuesday.

The strongest storms could bring damaging winds, an isolated tornado or localized flooding due to heavy rain.

Monitor for updates on weather throughout the day. Download the WFXG weather app for personalized weather notifications.

Send your weather pictures to

Copyright 2014 WFXG. All rights reserved.