Hampshire College added to schools facing Title IX review - WFXG FOX 54 - News Now

Hampshire College added to list of schools facing Title IX review

Five more schools have been added to a list of 71 colleges currently under investigation for their handling of campus sexual assault.

Hampshire College in Amherst is among them.

The Department of Education's Office for Civil Rights says the list reflects schools where at least one student has filed a Title IX complaint related to sexual violence, though Hampshire College Communications officials tell CBS 3 that was not the case.

CBS 3 reached out to Hampshire College for comment.

They sent us a statement from the college president, Jonathan Lash, reading in part:

I want to let you know that Hampshire has recently been selected by the Office for Civil Rights (OCR) for a compliance review under Title IX.

Yesterday I had a fruitful conversation with the investigation team from OCR to discuss the process, and to assure OCR that Hampshire will be open, transparent and collaborative in working with their team. We have endeavored to be proactive in updating our policies and processes to incorporate the evolving Federal law and guidance and to reflect promising practices that are fair and balanced to all parties, but I recognize that there is always more that we can do.

The review will cover the College's policies and procedures on sexual and gender-based harassment and violence, including our response to reports of sexual assault. The review was not prompted by an individual complaint against Hampshire, nor does the opening of the review signify that we are not currently in compliance. Nonetheless we expect that OCR may identify areas where we can more effectively serve our students, faculty and staff, and I gave OCR my commitment that the College will do all we can to learn from their review.

Copyright2014 WSHM (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.

  • NEWSMore>>

  • 5 dead after tornado, flooding from central US storms

    5 dead after tornado, flooding from central US storms

    Sunday, February 25 2018 2:25 AM EST2018-02-25 07:25:46 GMT
    Sunday, February 25 2018 8:36 PM EST2018-02-26 01:36:30 GMT
    (Liz Dufour/The Cincinnati Enquirer via AP). A view from the Central Bridge shows the flooding from the Ohio River  Saturday, Feb. 24, 2018 in Cincinnati.  Forecasters expected the Ohio River could reach levels not seen since the region's deadly 1997 f...(Liz Dufour/The Cincinnati Enquirer via AP). A view from the Central Bridge shows the flooding from the Ohio River Saturday, Feb. 24, 2018 in Cincinnati. Forecasters expected the Ohio River could reach levels not seen since the region's deadly 1997 f...

    A man in northeast Arkansas and a woman in south central Kentucky both were killed as the storm that also included strong winds, hail and heavy rain that triggered flooding muscled its way through the area, according to authorities.

    More >>

    A man in northeast Arkansas and a woman in south central Kentucky both were killed as the storm that also included strong winds, hail and heavy rain that triggered flooding muscled its way through the area, according to authorities.

    More >>
  • China paves way for Xi Jinping to remain leader for years

    China paves way for Xi Jinping to remain leader for years

    Sunday, February 25 2018 4:05 AM EST2018-02-25 09:05:47 GMT
    Sunday, February 25 2018 8:27 PM EST2018-02-26 01:27:32 GMT
    Chinese President Xi Jinping speaks during a joint press briefing with French President Emmanuel Macron, at the Great Hall of the People in Beijing, Tuesday, Jan. 9, 2018. (AP Photo/Mark Schiefelbein, Pool)Chinese President Xi Jinping speaks during a joint press briefing with French President Emmanuel Macron, at the Great Hall of the People in Beijing, Tuesday, Jan. 9, 2018. (AP Photo/Mark Schiefelbein, Pool)

    China's official news agency says the ruling Communist Party has proposed removing a limit of two consecutive terms for the country's president and vice president.

    More >>

    China's official news agency says the ruling Communist Party has proposed removing a limit of two consecutive terms for the country's president and vice president.

    More >>
  • Political end to Olympics: NKorea offers talks with US

    Political end to Olympics: NKorea offers talks with US

    Sunday, February 25 2018 2:16 AM EST2018-02-25 07:16:08 GMT
    Sunday, February 25 2018 8:06 PM EST2018-02-26 01:06:59 GMT
    (AP Photo/Patrick Semansky). A volunteer walks in a foggy Pyeongchang Olympic Plaza during the 2018 Winter Olympics in Pyeongchang, South Korea, Saturday, Feb. 24, 2018.(AP Photo/Patrick Semansky). A volunteer walks in a foggy Pyeongchang Olympic Plaza during the 2018 Winter Olympics in Pyeongchang, South Korea, Saturday, Feb. 24, 2018.

    Pyeongchang closes its chapter of the modern Olympics on Sunday night with tales of detente and competitive grit and volunteerism and verve.

    More >>

    Pyeongchang closes its chapter of the modern Olympics on Sunday night with tales of detente and competitive grit and volunteerism and verve.

    More >>
Powered by Frankly