Hampshire College added to schools facing Title IX review - WFXG FOX 54 - News Now

Hampshire College added to list of schools facing Title IX review

Five more schools have been added to a list of 71 colleges currently under investigation for their handling of campus sexual assault.

Hampshire College in Amherst is among them.

The Department of Education's Office for Civil Rights says the list reflects schools where at least one student has filed a Title IX complaint related to sexual violence, though Hampshire College Communications officials tell CBS 3 that was not the case.

CBS 3 reached out to Hampshire College for comment.

They sent us a statement from the college president, Jonathan Lash, reading in part:

I want to let you know that Hampshire has recently been selected by the Office for Civil Rights (OCR) for a compliance review under Title IX.

Yesterday I had a fruitful conversation with the investigation team from OCR to discuss the process, and to assure OCR that Hampshire will be open, transparent and collaborative in working with their team. We have endeavored to be proactive in updating our policies and processes to incorporate the evolving Federal law and guidance and to reflect promising practices that are fair and balanced to all parties, but I recognize that there is always more that we can do.

The review will cover the College's policies and procedures on sexual and gender-based harassment and violence, including our response to reports of sexual assault. The review was not prompted by an individual complaint against Hampshire, nor does the opening of the review signify that we are not currently in compliance. Nonetheless we expect that OCR may identify areas where we can more effectively serve our students, faculty and staff, and I gave OCR my commitment that the College will do all we can to learn from their review.

Copyright2014 WSHM (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.

  • NEWSMore>>

  • Oklahoma restaurant shooting victims recovering

    Oklahoma restaurant shooting victims recovering

    Saturday, May 26 2018 4:03 AM EDT2018-05-26 08:03:40 GMT
    Saturday, May 26 2018 10:56 PM EDT2018-05-27 02:56:44 GMT
    (Sarah Phipps/The Oklahoman via AP). Police officers stand at the scene of a shooting on the east side of Lake Hefner in Oklahoma City, Thursday, May 24, 2018. A man armed with a pistol walked into Louie’s On The Lake restaurant at the dinner hour and ...(Sarah Phipps/The Oklahoman via AP). Police officers stand at the scene of a shooting on the east side of Lake Hefner in Oklahoma City, Thursday, May 24, 2018. A man armed with a pistol walked into Louie’s On The Lake restaurant at the dinner hour and ...
    Authorities say a Facebook page in which a man claims his television is possessed by the devil belongs to the man suspected of shooting three people at an Oklahoma City restaurant before being killed by two armed...More >>
    Authorities say a Facebook page in which a man claims his television is possessed by the devil belongs to the man suspected of shooting three people at an Oklahoma City restaurant before being killed by two armed bystanders.More >>
  • The Latest: Rep: "Hero teacher" released from hospital

    The Latest: Rep: "Hero teacher" released from hospital

    Saturday, May 26 2018 10:46 AM EDT2018-05-26 14:46:33 GMT
    Saturday, May 26 2018 10:56 PM EDT2018-05-27 02:56:23 GMT
    (Robert Scheer/The Indianapolis Star via AP). Empty school buses leave after a shooting at Noblesville West Middle School in Noblesville, Ind., on Friday, May 25, 2018. A male student opened fire at the suburban Indianapolis school wounding another stu...(Robert Scheer/The Indianapolis Star via AP). Empty school buses leave after a shooting at Noblesville West Middle School in Noblesville, Ind., on Friday, May 25, 2018. A male student opened fire at the suburban Indianapolis school wounding another stu...

    The family of a student wounded during a school shooting in Indiana says she is in critical but stable condition.

    More >>

    The family of a student wounded during a school shooting in Indiana says she is in critical but stable condition.

    More >>
  • US states prepare as Subtropical Storm Alberto heads north

    US states prepare as Subtropical Storm Alberto heads north

    Saturday, May 26 2018 5:23 AM EDT2018-05-26 09:23:12 GMT
    Saturday, May 26 2018 10:56 PM EDT2018-05-27 02:56:00 GMT
    A gradual strengthening is expected through the weekend as Alberto moves north. (Source: NOAA/CIRA/RAMMB/CNN)A gradual strengthening is expected through the weekend as Alberto moves north. (Source: NOAA/CIRA/RAMMB/CNN)

    A storm moving slowly through the Caribbean Sea is threatening to bring heavy rainfall, mudslides, and flash floods to parts of Mexico, Cuba, Florida and the eastern U.S. Gulf Coast this weekend.

    More >>

    A storm moving slowly through the Caribbean Sea is threatening to bring heavy rainfall, mudslides, and flash floods to parts of Mexico, Cuba, Florida and the eastern U.S. Gulf Coast this weekend.

    More >>
Powered by Frankly