Trio To Be Inducted Into CofC Athletics Hall of Fame - WFXG FOX 54 - News Now

Trio To Be Inducted Into CofC Athletics Hall of Fame


Three former student-athletes havebeen selected for induction into the College of Charleston Athletics Hall ofFame.

The 2014 Induction Class includesformer men's basketball star Sedric Webber (1995-99), former College Sailor ofthe Year Tyler W. Moore (1991-95) and former four-time All-TAAC women's tennisstandout Siri Mittet (1993-97).



(Class of '99)

Named Southern Conference Player ofthe Year by the coaches and the media in 1999, Webber also garnered All-SoConFirst Team honors by the coaches and media in 1999. During his four-yearcareer, he scored 1,267 points and 694 rebounds. He currently ranks 19thall-time in career scoring and sixth all-time in CofC's Division I history incareer rebounding. As a junior, Webber was tabbed 1998 TAAC Co-Player of theYear after averaging 15.1 points and 7.9 rebounds per game. He also garneredTAAC Tournament MVP honors in 1998. As a senior, Webber led the Cougars totheir third consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance (1997, 1998 and 1999), whileaveraging a team-leading 13.8 points, 7.2 rebounds and 2.1 assists per game.The team's four-year record was 106-16 during Webber's career. He is one ofonly two Division I men's basketball players all-time to have won conferenceplayer of the year in two different Division I conferences in back-to-backseasons. After graduating in 1999 with a bachelor's degree in businessadministration, Webber played for the North Charleston Lowgators and ColumbusRiverdragons and was a two-time All-NBA Development League Team selection. HisNo. 23 jersey is honored in the rafters of TD Arena.


TYLER W. MOORE (1991-95)

(Class of ‘95)

A three-time All-American (1993, 1994and 1995) and honorable mention All-American in 1991, Moore led the College ofCharleston to a second-place finish in the Leonard M. Fowle Trophy competitionfor three-straight years from 1993-95, which is awarded annually to the bestoverall collegiate team in the nation. In 1994, he was the third-ever recipientof the Everett B. Morris Trophy given to the College Sailor of the Year inprogram history – placing first or second in all major intersectional races.Moore began sailing at the age of 6 and was a member of the High School TeamRacing National and World Champion Teams at Tabor Academy (Mass.). Since histime at The College, he has won the 505 East Coast Championships six times andthe 505 North American Championships four times. Moore graduated in 1995 with abachelor's degree in history and was featured on the cover of Sailing Worldmagazine in 2012.


SIRI MITTET (1993-97)

(Class of ‘97)

Originally from Oslo, Norway, Mittet(pronounced MUH-tett) became the first College of Charleston tennis player tobe selected All-Trans America Athletic Conference (TAAC) all four years. Shewas one of only two players in the TAAC era to be named all-conference fourtimes and one of eight players all-time in league history to do so (nowAtlantic Sun Conference). Mittet played at No. 1 singles and No. 1 doubles allfour years for the Cougars and led College of Charleston to its first-everconference title in any women's sport in its NCAA Division I history as thesquad won the TAAC championship title in 1996. During her four-year career, theCougars compiled a 74-28 overall record (.725). She and doubles partner, MaryAvent, were also ranked as high as No. 19 in the nation in doubles. Mittetgraduated in 1997 with bachelor's degrees in German and sociology. She is aformer Norwegian women's singles champion and represented Norway in FederationCup play. Mittet was ranked as high as No. 704 in the world in singles in 1991and No. 767 in doubles in 1992 in the WTA rankings. She is only the fourthwomen's tennis player in school history to be inducted into the CofC AthleticsHall of Fame.

Powered by Frankly